Thursday, 18 February 2016

It's Time to Change the World

I have a really great idea and I don't know what to do about it.  The kind of Idea that I think Facebook or Google would pay Millions for just so they could be the ones to implement it first.

There isn't really any more point to this post other than just voicing something that's rattling around in my head.

I've had an AMAZING and I really do mean AMAZING idea that I think could change the direction of society and the usage of the internet at the moment.  I don't want to give away any details about it because I am going to try as hard as I can to pull it off.

I can design things, and using various tools I've always been able to pull of putting together websites or even this blog for example but to do what I need to do I need to learn how to code and how to make a complex database work together.  In essence I need to create Facebook from scratch and I don't know how to code.

So, over the next few weeks and months I will be learning various different coding languages, starting with a refresher on HTML and CSS, then on to Python and PHP.

Sunday, 12 April 2015

Discussion - It's time to leave Google Behind

DuckDuckGo LogoHow many of you automatically use Google straight out of the gate as your go to search engine?  Google has a complete monopoly on the search engine market and because of this Google in a sense, runs the entire world. Almost 90% of all internet searches go through Google and Google only really scratches the surface of about 10% of the overall internet and doesn't go anywhere near the DarkWeb.

For example, how often do you move past the first page of a Google search when you're looking for something on the internet?  It's very rare and if you don't find what you're looking for within the first few choices most people change their search parameters and move onto something new.

Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Discussion - Should Codeine be Banned? Or Prescription Only?

So, you've got a headache or some back pain that you can't seem to swat away with the help of regular Panadol (Paracetamol) so the next step is to take some kind of pain killer with Codeine in it. You purchased this packet from your Chemist in the same way that you purchased your toothpaste or your Panadol, there's no warnings on the package telling you about any dangers or problems that this product may have and so you keep a packet around the house just in case all the time.  I'm certain that this is a normal thing for very many people because in every house I've ever been to people seem to always have some of this lying around for the occasional use.

But did you know how dangerous the use of a product like this can be?  Did you know that it is ruining the lives so many people that roughly 1.3 million packets of the stuff are sold in Australia per month?  Perhaps some of you do, perhaps some of you don't.

Thursday, 19 March 2015

Discussion - Nintendo Finally Decides to go Smart (Phone)

Super Mario Bros. Wii Nintendo on Apple iPhone
Just a quick post tonight for all you gaming fans out there that might have been aching for some Nintendo mascot and character action for different mobile platforms.

Nintendo announced yesterday in Japan that they would finally take their heads out of their arses and take note of the fact that the Smart Phone gaming market has been killing their business and slowly running them into the ground.

Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Discussion - Is Human Morality Fundamentally Flawed?

International Bureau of Morality
It is a fictional entity, but perhaps it should exist.
But no, that is actually a terrible idea.
So I'm certain that this one might provoke some discussion because I'm going to try and shake the very foundations that you stand on with my words (perhaps that's a bit of an exaggeration).

The question itself is actually flawed because it's virtually impossible to define "Human Morality" in any single way however I want to try and look at things from the aspect of universal and common sense as well as the morality that we are all born with in comparison to what might possibly be a viewpoint external to the human race.

First up the thing that I'm sure nearly all of you thought about when the topic of Morality is raised is the idea of "Right and Wrong", "Good or Bad", "Black and White" and also perhaps the Ten Commandments. However, I personally believe that all of these concepts of Morality are flawed, there is not enough substance to Black and White and is there really such a thing that is right or something that is wrong? Morality is humanity's one primarily defining feature and it exists in the grey area and all the colours in between the black and white.  I mean, the bad guys very rarely think that they are themselves the real bad guys right?


Tuesday, 17 March 2015

Tips - There is Always Another Palette


Good Morning all you avid artists out there.  We're sure if you're reading this then you're probably connected to us through the artistic medium of miniature painting.

Now, we are assuming here, but when we consider the idea of an artist and their palette we think of the classic wonky shaped palette like the one pictured to the right, but using the same old palette all the time can be frustrating and messy the more well loved it becomes.

Artist Palette

Monday, 16 March 2015

Top 10 - Movies


The Perfect Opinion Top 10
Top 10 Movies Logo


Welcome to our first Top 10 list.  Over the next few weeks we will be slowly adding more and more of these and as time goes on, if something manages to Hit the Top 10 these posts will be changed to show the latest Top 10.

Choosing a Top 10 movies is an incredibly difficult thing to do because there are so many great movies out there and we like so many of them.  That is why there will always be the "Notable Mentions" section below the initial Top 10.  Keep in mind that this isn't necessarily the list of movies that we think are the absolute best in the made by creation standards, they are rather our favorite movies to watch.  Movies that we can watch over and over and over again without caring that we've seen them before.  Some of the movies in the Notable Mentions may be 'technically' better than some of the movies that I've chosen, however - these are our choices for the Top 10.

So without further delay here is the Perfect Top 10 Movies List!

Monday, 9 March 2015

Review - Royale Brothers Burger


I recently got the chance to try a Burger from what I read on the internet to be one of the best burger places in Melbourne.  Located on Church Street in Brighton which happens to be a two minute drive from where I live now are the Royale Brothers.  I've had a craving for an excellent burger for a while now and I haven't been able scratch that itch.

Come inside to see what I thought of this burger that everyone on the internet raves about.

Review - The Imitation Game

The Imitation Game.  Perhaps you have heard of this idea in recent times as more and more Artificial Intelligence is tested using a very similar methodology.  The key to Artificial Intelligence is for it to trick a human that a computer is a human, thus the name "The Imitation Game".  That however is not the subject of the movie of the same name.

The Imitation Game movie is about a man called Alan Turing and his efforts to build a machine that could crack the Nazi Enigma Machine and therefore give the Allies an tap on Hitlers phone line.

I don't want to talk to much about what happens in the movie because following the progress of those efforts, what happens and how it happens is part of what makes this movie what it is.

Come inside to find out what my perfect opinion of the movie is.

Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Discussion - The Flying Car, what insanity is this?

First off, I suggest you take a couple of minutes to watch the video linked in this post below.

Watching this video brought a little bit of a tear to my eye because honestly, this idea is just wow and I had no idea that it was anywhere beyond just the concept stage.  The flying car idea certainly isn't a new one, it has been around for a long long time.

Come inside to view the video and the rest of this discussion.